Accepting Fate to do it’s Job

Upon my return to Vietnam earlier this week I had a moral dilemma. It happened at Thu Thiem, a pocket of dense jungle amidst the concrete of  Ho Chi Minh City. It’s a favourite place of mine and countless others but like many green spaces in the city it has recently been turned into an enormous construction zone ; albeit it more or less free to access for the general public (at this stage).

Riding my tiny bike along the accidental motocross track forged by hundreds or rumbling trucks I  eventually came to spot isolated from people, motorbikes and unwanted background noise. I sat on a stack of concrete slabs as I sat gazing  across the Saigon River at the jumbled skyline of District 1. After resting for about half an hour I decided it was time to leave before the sun did. I suddenly heard a muffled cry.

The sobbing grew weaker as I looked high and low for a lone kitten – perhaps there were more than one? The cries stopped and I looked everywhere that I thought was in earshot of my seat; not forgetting the tight gaps between the concrete I was sitting on. This cat saw or felt me here and it wanted me to notice it. Although I was frantically looking it had become dark already and I was without a torch. I found no kittens. I rode away from that baby knowing that it would die very shortly.

It’s not uncommon to come across abandoned kittens all over this city. Litters of cats are seen living out of the way of people; gaps in form-work of stalled construction or cardboard boxes beside festering canals also seem popular. I do occasionally visit these places as I find them fascinating and often they crawl out towards you from underneath their ‘homes’ which are the only respite from the sun’s intense heat. You understand they will probably die as they are often very weak, underfed, riddled with fleas and diseased. You can’t just wash them and give them away (as many expats who advertise on facebook now realise). Cats serve no purpose  here and are not valued like a dog and the security they bring to a household.

For the most part, an abandoned kittens fate here must be accepted; life here doesn’t favour newborn kittens as many tiny lives are continually cut short.  Do I like the idea? No. I tried to find that kitten the other day with all the resources I had. What I would do once I found it – I do not know. Not every abandoned kittens life can be saved. All I could do then was to acknowledge the situation of the life that was calling out to me and accept that fate would do it’s job. Accepting death, particularly when it seems avoidable, is an essential part of understanding nature.

dsc_4225

 

Leave a Reply

